Contribution

Huge swathes of people, in Europe and North America in particular, spend their entire working lives performing tasks they secretly believe do not really need to be performed.

Real, productive workers are relentlessly squeezed and exploited.

Came across a wonderful article “On the Phenomenon of Bullshit Jobs“. It blatantly points out the annoying fact of the inequality in our society. For a few days, I keep wondering why “real” jobs pay so poorly. Why can’t I get paid well by making good and contributing to those in hardship? I guess the answer is in the question; those who are in need cannot pay you handsomely.

Then I came across a cartoon tribute to Bill Watterson, the artist behind the inspiring Calvin and Hobbes. This cartoon is a beautiful reminder against job title and salary as sole success measurement. Besides title and salary, some may treasure work-life balance, job satisfaction or have preference in a particular job nature.

What about contribution? It seems off the table in the discussions about jobs. But I do care about it. I want to make good for others. I hate wasting 9 hours per day doing something useless and get decent pay check. It feels so guilty and wasteful.

I want to do something, even in working hours.

I hope to find a job that could balance contribution and pay. What should I do then?

ps. I still want to be in the IT industry. I hope to find jobs that targets public, at best the less privileged. Or, I hope to contribute to help the environment, or something related to food-supply.

Leave a comment